A Potato Cake Substitute

In an effort to use what I had in the fridge and trick myself into thinking that I was eating potatoes, I made these.  Cauliflower cakes sounds like a weird name, so I’m just going to call it my Potato Sub.  They turned out pretty well though the smell that cooked cauliflower makes can infiltrate the nostrils in a slightly unpleasing way.  However, I’ll take it if I can make myself think that I’m eating potatoes. Takes a bit of an imagination, but I will get there.

Recipe:

1 cauliflower, cut up and steamed until easily mashed

2 eggs

1/2 tsp. sea salt

1/2 c. panko

1/4 c. parmesan or other cheese

scallions

Directions:

When the cauliflower has been steamed until it can be easily mashed (looks like mashed potatoes), combine it will eggs, sea salt, panko, parmesan or other cheese, and scallions.  Using a 1/4 c., scoop into a muffin tin or mini-muffin tin.  Bake on 350 for 12-15 minutes (possibly a little less if using a mini-muffin tin) or until golden brown on top.

To Try Next Time: Other types of cheese, possibly mix some broccoli or other veggies in to the mixture.

The Bibliography: Idea from this post of cauliflower pancakes on A Good Appetite

Leave a Reply

