College Reunion 1: We’re Addicted

In prepping the menu for the reunion weekend I knew I had to include a few things to avoid being assaulted by my dear friends.  The Toll House Pie was a bonus.  The real star of the menu was spaghetti.  When we started planning back in July the one thing I was constantly reminded of was that spaghetti better make an appearance and it better be early in the weekend when it did. I also got the eerie feeling that a large quantity was required, or there would be trouble in this household.

This is another Momma original as are most of the recipes that have become staples in my cooking. After failing to get a “before shot” this bowl is the only evidence as to the quality of the dish.  Mere remnants that are there mainly because my friends don’t lick bowls, or they hadn’t at this point.  Maybe they were waiting until after they finished their salad.

When I made spaghetti in college I would always make a salad with carrots, cranberries, and feta cheese with a French dressing, but this time I decided to go with a Mast Farm Inn recipe.  Momma made this salad often in the summers and I loved it because it had hardboiled eggs, bacon, and mushrooms on it–some of my favorites for a salad.  As spaghetti had to make the menu, I decided to switch up the salad–quite daring of me.  Yep, my risk tolerance wouldn’t be considered exceptional.

It was a hit and almost produced food comas.  There is a picture of Eliz that I would love to include here to illustrate the point, but don’t dare.  It’s safe to say that we’re addicted.

If there is anything certain in life and our friendships it is that the next time we are together spaghetti will make an appearance and that pedicures are a must.

Recipes:

Spaghetti

Ingredients

6-32 oz. cans of spaghetti sauce

2 medium onions, chopped

2-3 lbs. lean ground beef

2 Tbsp. Worchestershire sauce

1 c. sugar

3 Tbsp. yellow mustard

2 Tbsp. garlic powder or fresh minced garlic

Salt & Pepper to Taste

Directions

Brown meat with onions.  Drain and then put in large dutch oven. Add the rest of the ingredients and bring to a slow boil over medium heat.  Reduce heat and let simmer for several hours.  The longer it simmers, the better it is.  Serve with whole wheat noodles and fresh Parmesan cheese.

**This made enough for 8 people to eat 3-4 for meals.

Salad (Mast Farm Inn in Valle Crucis, NC)

Ingredients

1 lb. fresh spinach

1/2 lb. fresh mushrooms, sliced

2 hard boiled eggs, chopped

12 oz. bacon (I rec. using Boar’s Head)

Poppy Seed Dressing

Directions

Remove the stems of the spinach and wash several times in cold water.  Drain and refrigerate for at least 2 hours. At serving, fill bowl on spinach and arrange toppings.

Poppy Seed Dressing (from the Mast Farm Inn, Valle Crucis, NC)

Ingredients

2 c. olive oil                                   1 Tbsp. dry mustard

1 c. cider vinegar                          1 Tbsp.garlic powder

1 c. sugar                                        1/2 tsp. black pepper

2 tsp. salt                                      1 1/2 tsp. poppy seeds

Directions

Mix all ingredients; using whisk whip until thoroughly blended.  Let rest 10 minutes and whip again. Stir before using.

The Bibliography: Spaghetti-SFD Test Kitchen via Momma’s Kitchen; Salad and Dressing-Mast Farm Inn in Valle Crucis, NC

P.S. Our addiction extended to pedicures–my first since the week of my wedding.  Demonstrating my risk tolerance again I chose purple, one of my least favorite colors that is slowly making a comeback thanks to the color scientists with OPI.

Leave a Reply

