Ugly As Sin

Ugly as sin was a phrase that I always heard growing up.  Fortunately it was only used when talking about baked goods or other food products–not people.  I had an ugly as sin outcome this week when I made our favorite pie into cookies.

The Angus Barn is a dining experience that we treat ourselves to once every two years or so and is nothing related to ugly as sin.  When we last went, Andrew got the chocolate chess pie for desert and I tried a bite (when I could finally pry myself away from my blackberry cobbler).  It was delicious and I was thrilled when the waiter brought back the recipe.   Since then it has become our “go-to” dessert when we’re having house guests.

When we were running a little behind for the Superbowl Party last week and I was responsible for a dessert, I decided to make AB’s Chocolate Chess Pie but in cookie form.  To make them, I added flour and baking powder to the chess pie recipe.   While the chess pie itself is beautiful, I discovered that adding flour and baking soda does nothing for its appearance in cookies.

The cookies make a nice cakey, cookie that isn’t as rich as the pie. Best served with milk.

On another note, ugly as sin can now also be the description for food poisoning, something the husband and I both experienced last week.  We now have new rules concerning any leftovers in the house and food in general.  Food poisoning= #miserable

Recipe:

Angus Barn Chocolate Chess Pie

1 unbaked pie crust

1 stick of butter

2 squares bakers chocolate (semi-sweet)

1 cup of sugar

2 eggs (beaten)

1 tsp. vanilla

Dash of salt

2 c. flour

1 1/2 tsp. baking powder

Melt butter and chocolate, mix with next 4 ingredients, which have been blended together.  After these have been mixed, stir in flour and baking powder that have been blended together. Mix together well.  Place tablespoon size portions of mixture on a cookie sheet and bake for 8-10 minutes.  Cool on wire rack.

To Try Next Time: Use 1 1/2 c. flour instead of 2 c.

The Bibliography: Angus Barn

Leave a Reply

