Richmond Folk

We joined Richmond folk and visitors for the Richmond Folk Festival a few weeks ago.  It’s a great FREE festival in Richmond that lasted for 3 days, one of which we graced with our presence iPhone in hand.

The Music

We arrived in time for the Roseanne Cash along with half of Richmond (it seemed).  When we turned around we saw:

And trying to see Roseanne:

Roseanne was followed by many, many other acts.  One of the great things about the festival is that most of the acts perform multiple times throughout the weekend and you can easily (depending on the crowd) move from stage to stage to take them all in.  My favorites were Rockabilly (50s/60s rock) and Super Chikan and the Fighting Cocks (Delta Blues).

The Folks

My favorite folks of the festival were these guys (plus Janet who I didn’t capture with the phone).  Of course this picture didn’t come so easily.

It started like this. I think it says “who do you think you are?” or “whyya gotta take another picture?” or “Yes, we are the plainclothes plaid Patagonia security force.”

And then progressed to….”Can’t you see why the girls think I’m so cute?”

The father figure had to insert himself in order to straighten up the picture.  He then made it possible for me to get the greatest picture of the entire weekend.  I’m guessing if he ever reads this blog it could be a point of contention for us but it is posted with love.

The Food

Food vendors bordered most sections of the festival and included Indian, Mexican, Cajun, Kettle Corn, Gyros, Beer, Wine, and everything in between.  My many thanks should go to Mrs. Frances Davis and her fried apple pies. They were a highlight for me and so good that I didn’t take any pictures before eating it all.  It also came with the recipe which I covet more than the apple pies.  Sadly, I can’t find a link to the recipe anywhere online so I’m hesitant to post it.  Guess the only recipes given out will be to those who attend the festival next year.

Meeting a Richmond Celebrity

After we had recovered from the 8 hours of music, art, portable toilets, kettle corn, grassy hills with kids rolling down, and lot of people in general (think cattle call at times), we went to Joe’s Inn for their Sunday brunch.  The brunch was good (note to self–whole post devoted to sweet potato hashbrowns) but the best part was when I looked up and realized that the family sitting across the aisle from us were none other than the Petersiks!  I’ve often wondered what I would do if I met them since we go to Richmond every once in a while.  Now I know that there is first a wave of shock, and then several minutes of covert staring to make sure it’s them followed by a little bit of silence as I figure out what to say while not saying anything to my brunch companions for fear that our whole table would turn around and stare. When I finally worked up the nerve, it all came out a little too “OMG I love your blog” but they were extremely nice and didn’t seem to mind their Sunday morning family time being interrupted.  So, nice folks in Richmond all around.

And to close it out (and jump back to the festival), a little bit of Richmond art along the beautiful James riverwalk.  Obviously, James has beauty but possibly a slight offense to the nose.  We didn’t notice though and kept strolling.

Until next year folks.

Leave a Reply

